Abby Lessack Caregiver Award

Amy and Abby Lessack

At Living Beyond Breast Cancer (LBBC), we understand the importance of caregivers for those impacted by breast cancer. 

This annual award was inspired by Amy Lessack, an LBBC board member and longtime supporter who passed away in February 2021. In the weeks before her death from metastatic breast cancer, Amy approached LBBC with a request to honor her sister, Abby, who was Amy’s primary caregiver and ensured she lived out her life with dignity and grace. Amy’s wish was to celebrate and elevate the contributions of caregivers like her sister, whose stories are often left untold. 

Amy was very aware of the toll that breast cancer takes on not only those diagnosed with the disease, but also those who provide support during the journey. She recognized the vital role caregivers play in the lives of those diagnosed. To Amy, this award acknowledges the unsung heroes who act as caregivers, cleaners, medical advisors, drivers, cooks, therapists and, most importantly, companions. The award focuses a spotlight on each and every effort, whether taking the form of a grand gesture or a small act of kindness. Quite simply, for Amy, the award is an expression of gratitude.  - Abby Lessack

Award criteria

To be eligible for the Abby Lessack Caregiver Award, nominees must meet these criteria: 

  • Are caring or cared for a person with any stage of breast cancer. 
  • Can have any type of nonprofessional relationship with the person they are caring or cared for (partner, sibling, family member, friend, neighbor, loved one, co-worker, etc.). 
  • Are willing to share their caregiving story and photograph publicly to educate our community about the role and importance of caregivers. This may be through the LBBC community and various social media channels.  
  • Must live in the United States

Thank you for your interest in the Abby Lessack Caregiver Award. Nominations for 2022 are now closed. An external committee will review completed nominations and finalize their decision in August 2022.  

The caregiver selected to receive the award for 2022, will be honored at a virtual event this fall. More information to come.

For questions, contact Lynn Folkman Auspitz, Manager, Community Engagement at [email protected].

Abby Lessack Quote

Thank you

Award Committee 

Jewel Ajibade

Jenn Jageler

Abby Lessack

Esperanza Neu

Crystal Thompson

Donna Russo

Barbara J. Yorke

Corporate sponsor



Individual donors*
(in alphabetical order)

Andrew Aldag 
Ellen Alesker 
Andrea Allanoff 
Jackie Allen 
Kathryn Anderson 
Annemarie Armstrong 
Maddie Axelrod 
Susan Bachtle 
Lynne Barker 
Nessa Baron 
Lisa Bayard 
Robin Bender Stevens 
Carol Biron 
Howard Bleiman 
Susan Bleiman-Soll 
Maureen Boucher 
Bruce Braunewell 
Wendy Brennan 
Alia Bucciarelli 
Robyn Buist 
Joanne Bursich 
Chelsea Camson 
Nicole Carlyle 
Kenneth Ceaser 
Grace Clancy 
Wallace Clapp 
Kyle Clay 
Kris Cognac 
Barbara Cohen 
Susan Coldren 
Amy Coll 
Lauren Concannon 
Michele Conte 
Kathy Cook 
Lydia Cox 
Katie Creme Henry 
Patty Culotta 
Christopher Culotta 
Debra Dandro 
Mary Anne Davis 
Elizabeth Dawson 
Kim Decristofaro 
Denise Deely 
Debbie Dubin Marx 
Daniel Ducz 
Honey Edell 
Faith Edelman 
Naomi Eichen 
Roberta Falanga 
Brian Felgoise 
Judy Felgoise 
Stephanie Fine 
Lauren Forlenza 
Catherine Forlenza 
Hali Freeman 
Kristen French Belgiovine 
Ashley Fromm 
Alicia Getty 
Phyllis Gitlin 
Callista Goheen 
Jennifer Goldsman 
Connie Graham 
Nancy Graves 
Stacy Griffin 
Barbara Grossman 
Sally Groverman 
Beth Haas 
Marci Hackel 
Bonita Haines 
Suzanne Hanlon 
Suzanne Harley 
Phyliis Harrison 
Emily Harry 
Margaret Hartman 
Lisa Heffentrager 
Hunt Hendrickson 
Debbie Hernberg 
Sister Bernadette Hiester 
Halle Jacobson 
Jennifer Jageler 
Sabina Jageler 
Abigail Jenkins 
Jamila Jones 
Shirley Kahn 
Sharon Kane 
Margaret Kates 
Wendy Keefer 
Alice Kellepourey 
Etta Kessler 
Marcia Kleiman 
Beth Anne Kob 
Teresa Kohl 
Claire Krassenstein 
Kristen Krebs 
Glynnis Kuykendall 
Patricia Layton 
Abby Lessack 
Estate of Amy Lessack 
Arlene Lessack 
Edina Lessack 
Lee Lessack 
Susan Lessack 
Stephanie Levin 
Jessica Levine 
Amanda Levine 
Phyllis Levitan 
Charlotte Libby 
Tricia Linkenheimer 
Susan Lipoff 
Caren Littman 
Nancy Loev 
Terri Long
Judith Lyons 
Patricia Magid 
Margaret Magner 
Denise Mansfield 
Holly Markovitz 
Lynn Marks 
Terese Martin 
Susan Martos 
Arlene Masters 
Rosario Mayro 
Felicia Mayro 
Kathleen McCourt 
Eileen McFadden 
Matthew McGreevy 
Alison McWilliams 
Gina Meehan 
Ginette Meluso 
Polly Miller 
Robyn Miller 
Lisa Nattrass 
Evelyn Neel Stallings 
Fran Nelson 
Susan Newborn 
Mark Nichols 
Beth Ohline 
Arline Olim 
Kirsten Olson 
Susan Ottmann 
Stefanie Perry 
Renee Pfersch 
Christopher Pinto 
Denise Portner 
Kathy Putnam 
Cindy Reese 
Joan Regenbogen 
Marilyn Reiner 
Kate Reiprich 
Leslie Rifkin 
Lauren Romero 
Renee Rosenau 
Sharon Rosenthal 
Helene Ross 
Lauren Rothkopf 
Donna Russo 
Aileen Salus 
Linda Schatz 
Ashley Schettler 
Lisa Schildhorn 
Erica Semanoff 
Randi Shamis 
Susan Sherman 
Barbara Shoulberg 
Dee Shupard 
Lindsay Sigda 
Harriet Silberman 
Joan Silver 
Karen Silverberg 
Sondra Singer 
Inga Singh 
Jane Slater 
Elaine Slott 
Nathan Smith 
Linda Snyder 
Hilary Sohn 
Tracy Spain 
Barbara Spector 
Janice Spivack 
Charlotte Sprague 
Deborah Sragg 
Mary Stanton 
Susan Starr 
Mike Stein 
Mimi Stein 
Betsy Stewart 
Harriet Stuart 
Mary Swift 
Joan Thalheimer 
Ellen Thomas 
Heidi Thompson 
Carol Trimble 
Marc Wallach 
Martha Ann Wardlaw 
Beth Wasson 
Lisa Weinberger 
Barbara Weiss 
Marion Wiener 
Joan Will 
Dean Williams 
Kim (Dubin) Wolfe 
Carolyn Wollman 
Peter Wright 
Lester Wurtele 
Jean Wynn 
Betty Yashinski 
Sharon Yerkes 
Caroline York 
Barbara J. Yorke 
Kathrina Yost 
Margaret Zuccotti 

*List current as of December 9, 2021. Please email [email protected] for additions or to learn how to donate to this special fund.

Corporate Gifts
US Bank Foundation Employee Matching Gift 
Genentech Matching Gift 
Endo Pharmaceuticals Matching Gift 
AmerisourceBergen Matching Gift 
Comcast Matching Gift 
Stonyfield Farm Matching Gift 
Honeywell Matching Gifts 
SAP Matching Gift Program 
Merck Matching Gifts